Featured Contributor: Adessentials

cwl_introbanner.gif

1. Tell us something about yourself.
My name is Adeline and I am from Singapore. Besides jewelry crafting, I also offer handmade polymer clay beads on my blog to local and international crafters alike.

2. Do/Did you have any pet?
I had a maltese when I was younger. My parents helped me take very good care of Benji while I was out at work. The memories I have of him will never be forgotten and replaced. He always has a place in my heart. Right now, my family and I enjoy keeping tropical fishes.

benji.jpg

3. How did you get into crafting? What’s the first thing you made?
I happened to sign up for a 2 hour jewelry introduction workshop as a fun way to bond with my best friend. That was in the year 2005 and my love for it hasn’t stopped since. The first jewelry I made was a pair of earrings for myself. And in case you’re wondering, my best friend never got round to making anymore jewelries after that!

4. Do you have any formal training?
Well I wouldn’t consider the workshop as formal training. Passion is the always the key. I am very much a DIY person and I believe in practicing, practicing and practicing.

5. What are your favorite materials?
My first love is still silver but recently, I have the hots for gun metal components! As for beads, I work with all kinds, as long as it goes with my jewelry concept.

6. Where do you get your inspiration from?
Inspiration for me comes in many forms. It can be splashes of colors from my daughter’s wardrobe or just a visit to the bead shop!

7. Is crafting your full-time job? If not, what’s your day job?
Well, I would consider it as a part-time job since my priority is taking care of the family – I have been a stay-at-home-mom to my 2 children for the past 6 years.

8. Do you have any other hobbies apart from crafting?
I enjoy macro photography though am still an amateur. Dabbling with designs of all sorts is also something I like to do. I also enjoy whipping up dishes for my family!

9. What is the best thing about having your own business?
Besides the flexi-time, I enjoy making all kinds of decisions relating to the craft. But the best is still having your work valued by your loyal customers.

10. Any advice for someone who’s going to start his/her own business?
Be passion driven (not money) – only that can take you a long way.

Leave a comment

Filed under interviews

Leave a Reply

